Technology Journal- Diigo- 11/4/12

For this week’s technology journal, I explored Diigo (Digest of Internet Information, Groups, and Other Stuff.) My Diigo profile can be found here, although there is not much on it right now: http://www.diigo.com/profile/rebekahhoffman I chose to explore Diigo because its ability to highlight, annotate, do post-its, etc. was very attractive to me for research purposes. Honestly, though, I wish I had explored Delicious, because my experience with Diigo, whether it be because of the website, my browser, or my own ineptitude, was very frustrating.

On Diigo, I like the idea of being able to highlight and annotate right on the computer. However, when I attempted to do that (I tested on one of our reading assignments for next week,) it did not work at all. I could not get Diigo to highlight the document, and every time I tried to place a post-it they moved around and did not end up where I wanted them. I also like that you can join different groups. For example, I joined EdTechTalk, and there are a lot of different resources (EdModo, Google Tools, etc.) posted as well as creative ways to use them. While the groups are a great way to obtain information and ideas from other educators, I had to spend a lot of time sifting through irrelevant information before I found anything I could use. In addition, when I tried to search tags such as “libraries” or “education,” it took a while to find a person or group with enough hits to make following them worth my time.

Diigo has a lot of great information pages and tutorials (Diigo 101, Diigo in the classroom, etc.) I watched a few of them to see how Diigo could be used in the classroom, and I think i will try to spend some more time getting to know the program before I write it off completely. After all, the difficulties I came across could all come down to user error. However, I think I will keep an open mind and check out Delicious, as well.

I think if I could figure out how to use Diigo well it would be a good research tool for students in my library. In our school, the students are not allowed to access their e-mails for fear of cyber bullying. If I could teach them to annotate with and use Diigo, it could serve as a much more eco-friendly way of saving sources than printing them all out and writing on them. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

