Technology Journal- SlideShare- 10/22/12

For this week’s technology journal, I created an account on and explored SlideShare.I chose to look at this tool because I LOVE that SlideShare supports the idea of the free exchange of ideas, knowledge, and materials. As a Librarian as well as a literature and writing teacher, I am obviously very supportive of that way of thinking.

I like that it is easy to search and navigate SlideShare. Not only do they have a search box, but you can “browse” by what is popular, most downloaded, featured, and most “favorited” as well as by channel. I also like that you can make your post available to everyone or available to just one specific group of colleagues, students, etc. In addition, you can search popular topics like technology, education, humor; there are even full books available on here! Unfortunately, there is also a lot to sift through before you hit gold. For example, when I tried to find videos on library science or information on libraries, most of them were three to five years old. If we are talking about classical books or the Dewey Decimal System that can be okay, but technology moves so fast that watching a tech presentation that is five years old is most likely a waste of time.

My overall experience with the tool was a tad frustrating. A lot of the videos I found in search were outdated, but if I browsed long enough there were some on libraries and technology in libraries that were more current. When I tried to find a tutorial to see if there was something I did not understand or was doing wrong, the intro videos weren’t so much tools to learn how to use SlideShare, but an introduction on why you SHOULD use SlideShare. Luckily, though, the site is set up a lot like YouTube, so once I found a good, current slideshow it led me to other related, current resources. In addition, and I think I have mentioned this in a previous post, slideshows like this one are much more beneficial to me if I see them during or after a real presentation. It is very hard for me to learn from something like this without the information on the slides being explained. I worry that if I use similar presentations to try to present information to patrons and students, they might run into the same problem.

Despite all of that, I think this is a tool i could use in my library. Once I get a real website up and running, a SlideShare account could be a beneficial place to post research tips, book suggestions, book reviews, etc. so that patrons, students, and teachers can access them from home or school if I am not around. Because you do not need an account to look at the presentations, it would be a great way to integrate free, public information with my library users.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

